Wednesday, December 28, 2011

New Arrivals in the Kid's Dept

We're always getting in new books at North Shelby. Stop by the library and check out some of the new arrivals in the Kid’s Dept. We've got something for everyone!

Who was the greatest passer in NFL history? Who engineered the greatest team comeback? Who benefited from the strangest plays? These and other categories pop up in a Sports Illustrated Kids edition of Top 10 lists that is guaranteed to perk your interest and astonish your friends.

Wilma Tenderfoot, a small but determined ten-year-old orphan, dreams of becoming a world-famous detective so she can find out who her parents are. She is very good at finding clues and making deductions, especially with the help of her dog, Pickle.
Luckily, Wilma discovers that her new neighbor is the legendary detective Theodore P. Goodman, and he has a new case. The priceless Katzin Stone has been stolen, and anyone with a connection to the stone seems to end up with a frozen heart (gasp!). Wilma’s sure she can solve the mystery - as soon as Theodore makes her his apprentice…and Pickle stops eating all the clues.
With wicked humor, dastardly villains, red herrings, and a setting that would make Sherlock Holmes proud, this adventure is funny, feisty, cheeky, and charming – just like Wilma.

For readers who enjoy Wimpy Kid and Big Nate:
Twelve-year-old underachiever Rob has better things to do than read. His parents give him lots of books but most of them just end up in the messy pile of junk he keeps locked in his closet that once doubled as a makeshift science laboratory. One day, Rob hears weird sounds coming from behind his closet door and discovers a funny little creature that seems to be a cross between two characters from books he’s tried to ignore. He names him Wonkenstein.
Keeping track of “Wonk” is hard work. But with help from friends and a little off-the-wall magic, Rob and Wonkenstein’s crazy adventures set the stage for great laughs . . . and Rob might even read some good books along the way.

The latest book in the 39 Clues series!
Amy and Dan are in a race for their lives . . . and the enemy may be even closer than they think. When seven members of their family were kidnapped by a sinister organization known as the Vespers, thirteen-year-old Dan Cahill and his older sister, Amy, vowed they'd stop at nothing to bring the hostages home. But then the ransom comes in and the Vespers demand the impossible. Amy and Dan have just days to track down and steal an ancient map. The only catch? No one has seen the map for half a century.
Now Amy and Dan are on a desperate search that will lead them to the Nazis, spies, a mad king and some of history's dirtiest secrets. It's the race of their lives . . . and one misstep will mean certain death for the hostages.

No comments:

Post a Comment